Virginia Beach, Virginia
Ferry Plantation House was named for the ferry service that began in 1642. The ferry traveled up and down the Lynnhaven River and carried everything from goods to people. The original building was the 3rd Princess Anne County Courthouse. Built in 1735, this was the first brick courthouse in the County, and it still stands today as part of Ferry House. The Ferry Plantation House was built by the Walke Family in 1830 as a replacement for the originial Manor House that burned in 1823. This three story federal style brick building is beautifully furnished with orginial pieces unique to the period in which it was built. Perhaps one of the things Ferry House is most well known for is the legend that it is haunted. Plantation owners, visitors, docents and even paranormal researchers continually experience unusual encounters. The famous trial by water, “ducking”, of Virginia’s only convicted witch, Grace Sherwood, took place here July 10, 1706. There is no doubt this place is rich with the areas local lore, and gives visitors one more reason to visit the Ferry Plantation House.
Heirloom Ornaments are limited edition, hand painted keepsakes sold exclusively at McDonald Garden Center. These two-sided ornaments celebrate LOCAL sites & attractions unique to Hampton Roads and surrounding areas.